Diana: The verdict is out… or is it?

7 04 2008

By Lloyd Meikle

guardian.co.uk Photo source: www.guardian.co.uk

The inquest into the death of Princess Diana concluded today. It found that she had been “unlawfully killed” due to the drunken driving of chauffeur Henri Paul and the reckless chasing of the paparazzi – pretty much the story we’ve been told all along. This verdict was reached after months of testimony and millions of pounds out of British tax payers’ coffers. But will this draw a line under it all? There are many around the world (including my mother) who still to this day believe that Diana’s death was part of an elaborate conspiracy. Just as is the case with many other hisorical events – the assassination of J.F.K, the moon landing and Marilyn Monroe’s overdose to name but a few, it seems as though we will never know the whole truth.

I still remember distinctly the moment I found out that Diana had died back in 1997. I was in bed and the phone rang. My father, a journalist, answered and said something pretty mundane along the lines of “Okay” after being told the news. He then said to my mother “I told you, Diana’s been killed in a car crash”, to which my mother responded with a cry of disbelief. How my Dad knew that was going to happen I have no idea. But I remember laying in bed in shock for about 10 minutes before going downstairs to switch on the television. What I should add is that I was living in England at the time. The mood of the entire nation was one of complete disbelief. It was incredibly surreal. Mothers stayed in doors sobbing for days on end, and newspapers and television sets were at the centre of almost everyone’s lives. The week or two after Diana’s death will stick with me forever. 

The question I want to put to you today is, where were you when Diana died? Do you remember? And do you hold any conspiracy theories?

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 04 2008
lmkateko

Someone to remember! Not only did she raise millions of dollars for many causes benefiting the sick and the poor, but she also gave of her time and herself. Many examples exist of Diana’s personal visits to homeless shelters and leprosy wards, of her physically touching those with HIV/AIDS or sitting with children dying of cancer.

11 04 2008
stoosa

Hey Lloyd – nice post, you get straight to the point and relate to a current affairs issue. From my side of things, doing The World Report every weekday at 6 on RMR (89.7fm – Grahamstown’s Youth Station) means that I have really had enough of this story making the headlines recently. Every day for the last two weeks solid, another aspect of the enquiry has been making headlines, especially in the UK media. I really feel that it’s time to put this to rest now – the conspiracy theories will continue to exist, and people will continue to talk about her death, but surely after this case, there can’t be a ‘story’ for media to dig up anymore. The official word is out there, let’s let her family put this behind her. This kind of frenzy is going to happen whenever a popular figure dies tragically – see Fatz’s post for more info: http://thedaybeforefriday.wordpress.com/2008/04/03/the-piss-off-conspiracies-a-window-into-my-tiny-tiny-brain/
And she was a very popular figure – I too was in England when she died, and clearly remember watching her funeral on television, with my mom sobbing throughout. As MK mentioned, the good she did for people, and her warm persona made her death very tragic, even for randoms who’d never met her. But let’s continue to show that same respect we all had for her by now letting her rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

